Kunitomi/Suzuki Scholarship

The Kunitomi/Suzuki Award was established in memory of Hideo Kunitomi and Paul Suzuki to honor both men for their long term service to CYC.  A college scholarship is presented annually to a young man who excels in the following areas:  scholastic achievement, active participation in school and community affairs, leadership skills and true sportsmanship.

Applications are being accepted until January 20, 2018. The award will be presented at our CYC Jamboree in February.

Previous recipients:

2017: Jets – Justin Hayata

2016: Mustangs – Rece Kunisaki

2015:Jets – Dennis Takeshita

2014:Evergreen-Joshua Yeh

2013:Pasadena Bruins-Harrison Jung, Evergreen-Samuel Quon

2012:Pasadena Bruins-Trent Kajikawa

2011:Pasadena Bruins-Nolan Tcheng

2010:Pasadena Bruins-George Toyama

2009:Tigers-Michael Jew

2008:Tigers-Kevin Tanaka

2007:Monterey Park Mustangs-Jason Woo

2006:Pasadena Bruins-Ryan Lee

2005:Tigers-Spencer Onishi/ Brandon Shimazaki, Evergreen-Devin Lau

2004:Tigers-Sean Watanabe

2003:Evergreen-Casey Teng

2002:Dodgers-Tigers-Shaun Oshita

2001:Hollywood Dodgers-Kyle Bunda

2000:Hollywood Dodgers-Jonathan Quon/Randy Masada

1999:Pasadena Bruins-Kyle Oshiyama, Hollywood Dodgers-Bryce Umemoto

1998:Hollywood Dodgers-Kevin Nishimura

1997:Evergreen Knights-Jay Kwan

1996:Monterey Park Mustangs-Alan Y. Ashimine

1995:Hollywood Dodgers-Matthew K. Takiguchi

1994:Monterey Park Mustangs-Andrew O. Ho

1993:Monterey Park Mustangs-Vinay S. Thakkar

1992:Monterey Park Mustangs-Andrew Yamamoto

1991:Monterey Park Mustangs-Sean Yoshimoto/Daniel Sako

1990:Monterey Park Mustangs-Kevin Hirai

1989:Hollywood Dodgers-Eugene Iwami

1988:Mustangs-Jets-Brent Naritomi

1987:Wanji & Monterey Park Mustangs-Doug Nishida

1986:Hollywood Dodgers-Dan Kawakami

1985:Westside Dodgers-Don Morita

1984:Titans & Westside Dodgers-Christopher Oune

1983:Westside Dodgers-Gerald Morita

1982:Westside Dodgers-Sanford Morita

1981:Bruins-Keith S. Kitani

1980:Hollywood Dodgers-Brian Miyagishima

1979:Bruins-Don Kikkawa

1978:Tigers-Kenneth Nishida

1977:Tigers-Darrel Kawana

1976:Evergreen Knights-Marc Shishima

1975:Titans-Ron Shiraishi

1974:Westside Giants-Rod Masuda

1973:Westside Giants-James Saito

1972:Red Sox-Don Kobashigawa/Jon Kobashigawa

1971:Titans-Glenn Hongo

1970:Westside Giants-Michael Mori


1968:Red Sox-Kenny Kokubun

1967:Wanji-Don Nakanishi

1966:Red Sox-Andrew Suzuki

1965:Giants-Gene Kawakami

1964:Saints-Ronald Yoshida

1963:Tigers-Ricky Kasuyama

1962:Knights-Lance Ito

1961:Wanji-Norman Ozaki

Web Analytics